Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council

The Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council (NPARC) region includes the communities of Injinoo, Umagico, Bamaga, New Mapoon and Seisia. 

NPARC welcomes businesses that provide opportunities for local employment and skill development to the region while mainting a vision which signifies that the heart of the region is the people, with culture an important part of the lives of the region's people both now and into the future.

Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council

The Mapoon Shire and associated Old Mapoon Aboriginal Corporation trust lands cover an area of just under 46,000 ha.

This land mass  stretches from the southern bank of Skardon River,in the north,  to the northern banks of the Pennefather River, in the south, and incorporates the lower delta reaches of the Ducie River and Wenlock River systems.

Sections of the trust area are dissected by the Comalco Mining lease, now owned by Rio Tinto.

Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council

The Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council community is situated 25 km (as the crow flies) from the west coast of the Gulf of Carpentaria in the south-western region of Cape York Peninsula, 600 kilometres north-west of Cairns. The community resides on the bank of Magnificent Creek, which joins the South Mitchell River, and forms part of the Mitchell River Delta system.

Kowanyama Aboriginal Land and Natural Resource Management Office

Since its inception in 1991, Kowanyama Aboriginal Land and Natural Resources Management Office (KALNRMO) has operated on a charter to promote and facilitate Aboriginal management of the natural and cultural resources of Kowanyama land and sea country, by the people of Kowanyama.

Through community consultation and direction, KALNRMO has developed a community development agenda for the Kowanyama region, including: